CSV-Importproblem: How to convert text to numbers in Excel

Just had the following problem: I exported a table from my database to flatfile (csv) and imported it to MS Excel. Excel treated some numeric columns as “text” with the consequence, that I couldn’t do calculations on that values.
Excel placed a little green comment-triangle in the upper-left corner of every of that cells with a corresponding note. To convert the values back to number, one could click each and every comment and select the appropriate command there – very frustrating job. So I thought “What a nonsense! This is easy-doing!”, marked the wrong-formatted columns and set the format to “number”. But to my surprise this had no effect on the values.

At MS I found a helpful info on how to achieve what I want. They suggest various ways, but for me this one was best and easiest:

  1. select the to-be-converted column
  2. select menu DATA -> TEXT TO COLUMNS – here just leave the default an click “finish”

This way the format of all cells of that column is set to “general” which makes Excel to take numeric values as what they are.

Leave a Reply

