Linux: Hassle with “mail”-command

I just had a little annoying trouble with “mail”. Despite it’s silly reason I will post it here to keep others from having to spend unnecessarily time on it.

I wanted to mail a logfile via “mail” from my Linux-Box. Easy, one might think. ;o)
But I got stuck with this error:

WARNING: RunAsUser for MSP ignored, check group ids (egid=3270, want=51)
can not chdir(/var/spool/clientmqueue/): Permission denied
Program mode requires special privileges, e.g., root or TrustedUser.

I used this line in my script:

echo "Monitor-Log `date`" | /bin/mail -s "Monitor-Log" -a /some/dir/monitor.log $RECIPIENTS -c $CCRECIPIENTS

The reason for the error was the sequence of the variables holding the mail-recipients (“$RECIPIENTS” and “$CCRECIPIENTS”). The last parameter to “mail” must ever be the final recipient. So all “CC”s have to go before that. The correct line is this:

echo "Monitor-Log `date`" | /bin/mail -s "Monitor-Log" -a /some/dir/monitor.log -c $CCRECIPIENTS $RECIPIENTS

As the given error-message is not straight for the root, I think this post was worth written.

Leave a Reply

